Delivering the Early Years Curriculum


We strongly believe that through the vast range of activities and experiences that we offer we provide the best opportunities for your child to develop and progress in all areas of the Early Years Foundation Stage.  Please feel free to contact us to arrange a visit to see us at play.


All our staff at St Oswald's pre-school are trained in delivering the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The EYFS framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.  With this in mind, it can also reassure parents that wherever they choose to send their child they will receive the same principles underpinning their child's learning and development experience.


Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life opportunities.

There are 7 areas of learning and development which are  inter-connected - 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.


The 3 prime areas are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development

The 4 specific areas are:

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design

To find out more about the Early Years Foundation Stage please visit